Spousal Abuse Defense Attorney in Riverside
Retain Premier-Quality Advocacy for Your Domestic Violence Case
Criminal charges of spousal abuse can not only carry serious consequences,
but they can also destroy a person’s reputation – even if
the incident from which they stemmed amounts to little more than a misunderstanding.
As such, any sort of accusation of spousal abuse must be handled with
the expertise of a knowledgeable attorney in order to be successfully
defended against. At Hanson, Gorian, Bradford & Hanich, our Riverside
criminal defense attorneys can provide the sound advice and powerful legal representation
you need to maximize your chances of securing a favorable outcome for
Past clients have trusted us with their cases for the following reasons:
- More than 50 years of combined legal experience
5-star testimonials from past clients
Proven history of
- Small-firm attention, large-firm resources
Fill out an online form today to discuss your spousal abuse case during a free consultation.
Penalties for Spousal Abuse in California
California judges tend to punish spousal abuse, a specific and severe type of
domestic violence, more seriously than other forms of abuse. Although it is referred to
as “spousal” abuse, abuse of this type can also include acts
committed by someone who lives with the alleged victim, a fiancée
or former fiancée, a dating partner or ex-dating partner, or a
parent of the victim’s child. Likewise, while physical abuse is
arguably the most common form, spousal abuse can also be verbal, emotional,
financial, or even spiritual in nature.
Some of the most common spousal abuse charges in California include:
Corporal injury on a spouse: Inflicting physical injury to a spouse to the point of a “traumatic
condition” is charged as a wobbler, meaning that it may be a misdemeanor
or a felony depending on the specific circumstances and the defendant’s
criminal history. A conviction of corporal injury on a spouse can carry
two, three, or four years in jail and up to $6,000 in fines.
Spousal battery: Unlike corporal injury, spousal battery does not require the victim to
be physically harmed; only that there was some forceful and unwanted physical
contact. Spousal battery is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year
in jail and $2,000 in fines.
Violating a protective order: Spousal abuse cases can also sometimes involve the alleged violation
of a restraining order, such as making contact with the protected person,
coming within a certain distance, or some other prohibited act. This can
carry up to one year in jail and $1,000 in fines upon conviction.
Whatever the circumstances may be surrounding your case, our team of advocates
are prepared to stand by your side and contest the evidence against you.
With aggressive representation and an unshakable dedication to preserving
your wellbeing, our team can level the playing field on your behalf and
ensure you are treated with the respect and dignity you deserve.
Defending Clients Throughout Riverside
There are few things more troubling than being accused of a crime, especially
one as serious as spousal abuse. At Hanson, Gorian, Bradford & Hanich,
our Riverside criminal defense lawyers are ready to take the gloves off
and fight tooth and nail on your behalf. With hundreds of dismissals,
reduced sentences, and favorable verdicts on our record, we understand
what it takes to counter the prosecution’s strategies and ensure
your constitutional rights are guarded. You are innocent until proven
guilty, and we are ready to do everything within our power to help you
get through this difficult time as smoothly as possible.
The sooner you get in touch with us, the sooner we can help.
Contact us online today to go over your defense options with one of our firm's trial-tested