Riverside DUI Attorneys
Confronting DUI Charges in Southern California
Driving under the influence (DUI) is the act of operating a motor vehicle
while intoxicated or impaired by alcohol and/or drugs. DUI is a criminal offense, and as such, it carries consequences that are
far heavier than a minor traffic offense. These charges are taken very
seriously by law enforcement officials and court officials in Riverside County.
A single DUI charge can cause enough damage to a person's future and
their career; multiple DUI charges can lead to even harsher consequences,
both legally and personally. If you have been charged with DUI, a skilled
criminal defense lawyer may be the difference between having the charges
dropped and suffering the consequences of a conviction. At Hanson, Gorian,
Bradford & Hanich, we make it a priority to help our clients find
a positive resolution to their DUI troubles.
We have 50+ years of combined experience. Our DUI lawyer in Riverside has practiced in civil and criminal courts
throughout Southern California, including the federal court system.
Contact our firm immediately and secure dedicated legal counsel for your DUI case!
The Punishments for a DUI Conviction
If a chemical test such as a Breathalyzer test or blood test measures a
driver's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at .08% or higher, they
may be charged with driving under the influence. Along with heavy fines and jail time, one of the most damaging effects
of a DUI conviction is the mark on a criminal record, especially for an
underage DUI. It can ruin an individual's future opportunities and threaten their career.
A DUI conviction may come with the following punishments:
- Thousands of dollars in fines
- Years served in jail or prison
- Driver's license suspension
- Probation and community service
- Ignition interlock device (IID)
- Court-ordered drug/alcohol treatment
How to Protect Your Driving Privileges
If your license was suspended during a DUI arrest, the officer issues you
a temporary driving permit that usually expires in a month's time.
From the time of the arrest, you only have 10 days to contact the DMV and
DMV hearing to appeal your license suspension. If you fail to schedule this hearing, your license could be suspended
for the full term, a period of up to 18 months!
At Hanson, Gorian, Bradford & Hanich, we help our clients protect their
driving privileges by representing their best interests in automatic license
suspension hearings at the DMV. Our Riverside DUI lawyer has the skills
and experience that may be necessary to defend your rights and successfully
appeal the suspension at the DMV hearing and during a criminal trial.
What You Should Know About DUI Arrests
First of all, do not give up—a DUI arrest does not guarantee a conviction.
Regardless of the officer's suspicion or the evidence brought against
you, a court of law must find you guilty of the DUI charge. The worst
thing you may do after a DUI arrest is take no action to protect your rights.
We may help you gain a clear understanding of the circumstances of your
arrest and the charges you may be facing. In many situations, multiple
criminal charges may be in play, and our
criminal defense attorneys in Riverside are prepared to handle even the most complex criminal
cases for our clients.
How Officers Perform DUI Stops in CA
Police officers have the right to conduct a traffic stop and question an
individual if they suspect that a driver is under the influence of drugs
or alcohol. There are several indications that officers use to determine whether a
person is intoxicated or impaired. However, while these may be useful
for performing traffic stops, they may not stand alone as incriminating
evidence of intoxication.
Common indicators that police look for include the following:
- Ignoring traffic signs
- Swerving into wrong lanes
- Reckless driving
- Making wrong turns
The real trouble may begin after the officer stops an individual. They
will look for other indicators of intoxication: smell of alcohol, slurred
speech, bloodshot eyes, open containers, etc. If the officer believes
there is evidence to suspect that a person is intoxicated, the officer
may require the driver to perform a field sobriety test or chemical breath test.
DUI Field Sobriety Tests & Breath Tests
Field sobriety tests are not mandatory—you may refuse to take them
without legal consequence. However, refusing this test may not stop the officer from arresting you
for DUI based on the evidence he has collected so far. It may still be
best practice to refuse field sobriety tests, since the results cannot
exonerate you. Ultimately, FST evidence may only be used against you in court.
Refusing a chemical breath, blood, or urine test usually results in harsh
legal consequences for a driver.
If you refuse a chemical test, the officer can automatically suspend your
driver's license. If this occurs, you only have 10 days to schedule a DMV hearing to appeal
the suspension. Otherwise, you could lose your driving privileges for
a period of 6 months to more than 1 year.
Protect Your Rights & Your Future—Call 951-687-6003
Do not suffer the harsh consequences of a DUI conviction without taking
steps to secure your future. At Hanson, Gorian, Bradford & Hanich,
our Riverside criminal defense lawyers help clients explore all their
legal options and find a solution that offers them a strong defense as
well as a positive outcome. Contesting weak evidence is only one part
of the legal services that our DUI attorney offers.
From protecting your driving privileges before, during, and after criminal
trial to taking legal measures that may ensure your future opportunities
are not affected by a DUI arrest, our firm is able to put our clients
best interests first and obtain effective legal solutions in all kinds
of situations. Your case is unique, and it deserves a personalized approach
from a dedicated legal professional.